Ballylooby GAA club was first affiliated to the South Tipperary board in 1941. The Rehill Unknowns had been playing since 1934, and some players from Ballylooby parish had lined out with Rehill during the late 30's. The introduction of the parish rule in 1940 decreed that players could only play for the team of the parish in which they lived. The Ballylooby based players could no longer play with Rehill, as the team was actually in the parish of Burncourt. Thus in 1941 the team entered the South Junior hurling championship for the first time. Success arrived quickly, when the team won the Junior championship in 1945. The rapid rise to a top team is a reflection on the previous 10 years work done in Rehill and Ballylooby, to promote the game and develop the skill level required to compete at the top level.

The team competed for the following few years, however the club struggled to field teams during the 50's and 60's as a result of the declining availability of players in the parish. Finally, in 1972, the Junior hurling championship was won after a gap of 27 years. The team was comprised of players from Ballylooby and Clogheen, playing for the Ballylooby club. At that time the footballers in the parish used to play football for Clogheen.

This all changed in 1974 when Ballylooby entered a team in the Intermediate Football championship for the first time. This exceptional team won the South football championship in 1974 and 1976 and were beaten in the county final by one point. The club name was also changed to Ballylooby-Castlegrace, to properly reflect the balance of players from the North and South ends of the parish. Despite the 1974 and 1976 success, the young players were not coming through, although South Minor and Under 21 success (joined with Clogheen as Brian Borus) in 1980 and 1982.

The club struggled through the 80's, and as a result, in the mid-eighties the football team was regraded to Junior, to give the side a chance to re-build. The hurling team continued at Junior level, although the club were unable to field a team some years.

In 1999, a breakthrough was made when the Junior team entered and won the South "B" hurling championship. This was the beginning of the re-emergence of the club as a force in South Tipperary GAA. Minor "C" titles followed in both football and hurling in 2000 and the major breakthrough came in 2002, after a couple of near misses, when the club won the South Junior football championship for the first time (previous victories had been at Intermediate level). Success breeds success and the South Junior hurling title returned to Ballylooby in 2003, after an absence of 31 long years.

The following years proved to be successful with our Minor footballers and hurlers where the club captured the South Minor C football championship in 2007 and 2011. The combination team Knockmealdown Gaels were successful in 2009 when the won the Minor B South trophy. The clubs Minor hurlers took county honours in 2011 capturing the Minor C trophy. 

The underage success complimented our adult teams and the club captured South Junior A Hurling honours in 2009 & 2013. The footballers were crowned South Junior A champions in 2011 and were unlucky to not take county honours. The club made the move to Intermediate football in 2012 where it has held its own for the past three years.